A Poem: “Has There Ever Been a Time”

Has there ever been a time
When You did not love me, Lord?
When the choice You made to save my life
Waned as cent’ries wore?
Such a long, long time to love,
To remember who I’d be
Oh in light of all Your better sons,
It seems You’d forget me

Has there ever been a time
When you did not love me, Lord?
When the choice You made in view of Christ
Lost the worth it bore?
Does His merit have such worth
That one life of righteousness
Could be treasure still as years on earth
Slowly trickle passed?

Has there ever been a time
When You did not love me Lord?
When the choice You made to glorify
Was changed once I was born?
For how greatly I have sinned!
Don’t You ever change your mind?
I don’t understand or comprehend
The patience that I find

Amazed am I by this:
Not one blessing He secured
Have You failed to keep within the grip
Of mercy yet procured
All the riches of the cross
That you promised me thro’ faith
Not a single one is torn or lost
But kept in sov’reign grace

Leave a Reply

