A Doxology of Romans 9

The God of Romans 9 is radically different than many people may be comfortable with. While most professing Christians exalt God as an anthropocentric Deity Who seeks man’s benefit above all else, Paul firmly presents Him as a God-centered God Who seeks His glory above all else. These things can be hard to accept. When I first began to see Scripture’s clear testimony concerning the nature of God, I wondered, “What does it look like to worship a God like this?” What does poetry praising the God of Unconditional Election read like? How do I praise God in light of His sovereignty over all things?

To the delight of my easily frustrated mind, God’s sovereignty in salvation is one of the most natural truths to praise Him for. I would like to share ten hymns that I’ve found helpful in drawing doxology from the theology of Romans 9. If you click on any title below, your computer device should be taken to an audio recording of the respective song.

I. Whate’er My God Ordains Is Right

Samuel Rodigast

Whate’er my God ordains is right // His holy will abideth
I will be still whate’er He doth // And follow where He guideth
He is my God, though dark my road // He holds me that I shall not fall
And so to Him, I leave it all // He holds me that I shall not fall

Whate’er my God ordains is right // He never will deceive me
He leads me by the proper path // I know He will not leave me
I take, content, what He hath sent // His hand can turn my griefs away
And patiently I wait His day // His hand can turn my griefs away

Whate’er my God ordains is right // Though now this cup I’m drinking
May bitter seem to my faint heart // I take it all unshrinking
My God is true each morn anew // Sweet comfort yet shall fill my heart
And pain and sorrow shall depart // Sweet comfort yet shall fill my heart

Whate’er my God ordains is right // Here shall my stand be taken
Though sorrow, need, or death be mine // Yet I am not forsaken
My Father’s care is ‘round me there // He holds me that I shall not fall
And so to Him, I leave it all // He holds me that I shall not fall

II. Great Is Thy Faithfulness

Thomas O. Chisholm

Great is Thy faithfulness, O God, my Father
There is no shadow of turning with Thee
Thou changest not, Thy compassions, they fail not
As Thou has been, Thou forever wilt be

Summer and winter, and spring-time and harvest
Sun, moon and stars in their courses above
Join with all nature in manifold witness
To Thy great faithfulness, mercy and love

Pardon for sin and a peace that endureth
Thine own ear presence to cheer and to guide
Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow
Blessings all mine with ten thousand beside

Great is Thy faithfulness! Great is Thy faithfulness
Morning by morning new mercies I see
All I have needed Thy hand hath provided
Great is Thy faithfulness, Lord, unto me

III. God Moves in a Mysterious Way

William Cowper

God moves in a mysterious way // His wonders to perform
He plants His footsteps in the sea // And rides upon the storm

Deep in unfathomable mines // Of never-failing skill
He treasures up His bright designs // And works His sov’reign will

Ye fearful saints, fresh courage take // The clouds ye so much dread
Are big with mercy and shall break // In blessings on your head!

Judge not the Lord by feeble sense // But trust Him for His grace
Behind a frowning providence // He hides a smiling face!

His purposes will ripen fast // Unfolding ev’ry hour
The bud may have a bitter taste // But sweet will be the flow’r!

Blind unbelief is sure to err // And scan His work in vain
God is His own interpreter // And He will make it plain!

IV. Our Sovereign God

Tom Pennington

Our Sov’reign God by His own word // Sustains this world and reigns as Lord
No angel, demon, sinful man // Can change His course, restrain His hand
O sov’reign God, we praise Your pow’r // Your wisdom, goodness we adore!
We bow our hearts before Your throne // Help us, O Lord, to trust You more!

When the fullness of the time had come // God sent His own beloved Son
To keep God’s aw, live in our place // To bear our sin, guilt and disgrace
Dead in our sin, estranged from God // We fled as rebels from His love
In sov’reign grace He made us sons // And saved us from the wrath to come

Before our birth He planned our days // Laid out our course, ordained our ways
The moments of our lives He weaves // So all the glory He receives
To those He loved before all time // To all He called, in grace renewed
He cannot lie; His Word is true // He makes all things to work for good!

He has written hist’ry’s final page // His Son’s return will end this age
The Lamb will come in glorious might // Take back His world and end its night
How deep the wisdom of our God // Unknown, unfathomed are His ways!
None counsels Him or knows His mind // We bow before Him all our days.

V. All Creatures of Our God and King

Francis of Assisi; paraphrased, William H. Draper; Thomas Ken

All creatures of our God and King // Lift up your voice and with us sing
Allelulia! Alleluia!
Thou burning sun with golden beam // Thou silver moon with softer gleam
O praise him! Alleluia!

Thou rushing wind that art so strong // Ye clouds that sail in heav’n along
O praise Him! Alleluia!
Thou rising morn, in praise rejoice // Ye lights of evening, find a voice
O praise Him! Alleluia!

And all ye men of tender heart // Forgiving others, take your part
O sing ye! Alleluia!
Ye who long pain and sorrow bear // Praise God and on Him cast your care
O praise Him! Alleluia!

Let all things their Creator bless // And worship Him in humbleness
O praise Him! Alleluia!
Praise, praise the Father, praise the Son // And praise the Spirit, three in One
O praise Him! Alleluia!

VI. I Sing the Mighty Power of God

Isaac Watts

I sing the mighty power of God // That made the mountains rise
That spread the flowing seas abroad // And built the lofty skies
I sing the wisdom that ordained // The sun to rule the day
The moon shines full at His command // And all the stars obey

I sing the goodness of the Lord // That filled the earth with food
He formed the creatures with His Word // And then pronounced them good
Lord, how Thy wonders are displayed // Where’er I turn my eye
If I survey the ground I tread // Or gaze upon the sky!

There’s not a plant of flower below // But makes Thy glories known
And clouds arise and tempests blow // By order from Thy throne
While all that borrows life from Thee // Is ever in Thy care
And ev’rywhere that man can be // Thou, God, art present there

VII. O Father, You Are Sovereign

Margaret Clarkson

O father, you are sov’reign // In all the worlds You made
Your mighty word was spoken // And light and life obeyed

Your voice commands the seasons // And bounds the ocean’s shore
Sets stars within their courses // And stills the tempest’s roar

O Father, You are sov’reign // In all affairs of man
No pow’rs of death or darkness // Can thwart Your perfect plan

All chance and change transcending // Supreme in time and space
You hold Your trusting children // Secure in Your embrace

O Father, You are sov’reign // We see You dimly now
But soon before Your triumph // Earth’s ev’ry knee shall bow

With this glad hope before us // Our faith springs up anew
Our sov’reign Lord and Savior // We trust and worship You!

VIII. Praise to the Lord, the Almighty

Joachim Neander; tr. Catherine Winkworth

Praise to the Lord, the Almighty, the King of creation!
O my soul, praise Him, for He is thy health and salvation!
All ye who hear // Now to His temple draw near
Praise Him in glad adoration!

Praise to the Lord, who o’er all things so wonderously reigneth
Shelters thee under His wings, yea, so gently sustaineth!
Hast thou not seen // How thy desires e’er have been
Granted in what He ordaineth?

Praise to the lord, who doth prosper thy work and defend thee
Surely His goodness and mercy here daily attend thee
Ponder anew // What the Almighty can do
If with His love He befriend thee.

Praise to the Lord, O let all that is in me adore Him!
All that hath life and breath, come now with praises before Him
Let the Amen // Sound from His people again
Gladly forever adore Him!

IX. When This Passing World is Done

Robert Murray McCheyne

When this passing world is done // When has sunk yon glaring sun
When we stand with Christ in glory // Looking o’er life’s finished story
Then, Lord, shall I fully know,
Not till then, how much I owe

When I hear the wicked call // On the rocks and hills to fall
When I see them start to shrink // On the fiery deluge brink
Then, Lord, shall I fully know,
Not till then, how much I owe

When I stand before the throne // Dressed in beauty not my own
When I see thee as thou art // Love thee with unsinning heart
Then, Lord, shall I fully know,
Not till then, how much I owe

When the praise of heav’n I hear // Loud as thunders to the ear
Loud as many waters’ noise // Sweet as harp’s melodious voice
Then, Lord, shall I fully know,
Not till then, how much I owe

Chosen not for good in me // Wakened up from wrath to flee
Hidden in the Savior’s side // By the spirit sanctified
Teach me, Lord, on earth to show
By my love, how much I owe

X. My Lord, I Did Not Choose You

Joseph Conder

My Lord, I did not choose You // For that could never be
My heart would still refuse You // Had You not chosen me
You took the sin that stained me // You cleansed me made me new
Of old You have ordained me // That I should live in You.

Unless Your grace had called me // And taught my op-ning mind
The world would have enthralled me // To heav’nly glories blind
My heart knows none above You // For Your rich grace I thirst
I know that if I love You // You must have loved me first.

Leave a Reply

